JESUS CHRIST – His Death, My Life!

As I reflect on the life, suffering, death and resurrection of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, two things have stood out for me in this season. Though, Easter celebration may be done at different calendar times in different parts of the world, it is only an avenue to recall and reflect once again on what Jesus did and its implications for me.

Isa 53:10-11

10 But it was the Lord’s good plan to bruise him and fill him with grief. However, when his soul has been made an offering for sin, then he shall have a multitude of children, many heirs…
11 And when he sees all that is accomplished by the anguish of his soul, he shall be satisfied; and because of what he has experienced, my righteous Servant shall make many to be counted righteous before God, for he shall bear all their sins.

Jesus was bruised and filled with Grief!
Yes He was and I don’t think it was a palatable experience. He cried and wept until he shed drops of blood. He prayed and wished he could avoid it. He was forsaken by His father, for the first time his father turned from him and he was alone. He was beaten and spat on and nails were driven deep into his hands and feet, hung on a cross.

He did this willingly. Though the soldiers were used to accomplish this plan but Jesus willingly laid his life down. It was His father’s good plan and pleasure to fill him with such a grief. I could imagine how the heavens were that night. Silence but hope of an afterwards. At present, both His father (and the heavens) and Jesus on the cross was in grief and pain but it was to be the beginning of a future for humankind!

Jesus in Luke 22:53 referred to that time as the ‘hour and the power of darkness’. There was great darkness all over. Something was about to happen, it looked like the end but it was just the beginning. One life was ending but several lives was to come alive after that… Halleluyah!

And why would a loving Father bruise his beloved only Son?

“…then he shall have a multitude of children, many heirs…” vs 10
“…because of what he has experienced, my righteous Servant shall make many to be counted righteous before God, for he shall bear all their sins.” vs 11

Excitement fills my heart because that dark night of suffering and pain was all because of me. It was all a plan, a set-up against the kingdom of darkness and for my sake. If the kingdom of this world, if Satan knew the full plan, they would not have crucified Jesus, but the plan was hidden from them!

image

Halleluyah, Jesus' death has brought me Life!

It was ALL BECAUSE OF ME.
The Father was thinking about me… He saw my struggles, he saw my present state, he saw how helpless I was and how confused I had become. He saw how the enemy molested me and kept me in bondage, he knew my end was eternal death… And He came for me! He set-up the kingdom of darkness to crucify Jesus just that I might be free.

He brought me LIFE.
He was seeking for a reconciliation between us. He wanted me to be not just his creature but his son, for ‘as many as received him, he has given power to be called Sons of God’. He wanted me to become a heir, a son, he was looking for an opportunity for me to be able to own him and all his eternal glory. His Grief, was to bring me Life, eternal life… “For He came, that I might have life, and have it more abundantly’. His dying breathe has now brought me great life.

I am also a SON.
On account of that dark night, I found access to the Father. The veil has been torn and I, even I can approach Him boldly, daily and personally too. I don’t have to wait for a ‘priest’ or a ‘certain time’ of the day or year, actually even now, just now… I can reach him just if I want to! He is ever willing and waiting for me to come to him, for he seeks a personal friendship and father-son relationship with me… That’s why they went through the grief!

Thank you JESUS.
Thank you Jesus for the Cross, thank you for agreeing to go through the pain and bruises and grief for me. You didn’t have to because you never sinned. You didn’t deserve it but you willingly gave yourself that I might live… Your grief has now brought me life, it has now made me a Son. Now, I can also call out to you and say “Abba Father” For this has always been the plan…

HALLELUYAH!

3 responses

  1. Olowookere Tolulope | Reply

    HALLELUYAH!!!!
    Indeed it was because of me he did all, never would have experienced the new life and freedom from following rules. Never would have been able to overcome sin on my own, never would have become a citizen of heaven, but all for me to come to the father he did this. Gloria, Gloria, Glory to his name. God bless you brother the post

    Like

    1. Great point on ‘freedom from following rules’… For Christianity has been reduced to “Dos and Don’ts” and young people are hit most by this but Jesus’ coming wasn’t to establish rules but to show us a life, in the power of the Holy Spirit!
      Thanks for your comment Tolu.

      Like

  2. […] I recall the grief and anguish of His soul (as we discussed last time), a little challenge rises up to my heart in the above scripture. Jesus went through great anguish, […]

    Like

Please Share with us!

