Walking Worthy

Col 1:10
10  that you may walk worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing Him, being fruitful in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God;
Eph 4:1
1  I therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you that you walk worthy of the vocation by which you are called,
1 Pet 2:9
9  But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own; that you should show forth the praises of him who has called you out of darkness into his marvelous light:

While I was having some followUp session with a young convert sometime ago, I began to talk to her about her relationships and God’s expectation in living well. She was beginning to have problems with her boss, who was also a Christian. Relationships were pulling apart, particularly as she saw a few things she ‘felt’ were not correct in the ‘oga’. That day I had already planned something else in my mind to share with her from the bible but as we proceeded in the discussion about her relationship, I noticed her unwillingness for me to talk about it. She kept defending herself and putting a front as though that is not as important as what we came to do. I myself was already beginning to feel like I should just ignore that and face the bible I intended to share with her, more so the time was now no longer on my side. Unfortunately, the more I tried to leave it, the more I felt that was the matter for the day, I needed to help her in that area. Then suddenly she said it bluntly “Whenever you want to talk to me, don’t talk about all those things…just share the bible with me!” That broke the camel’s back, I immediately saw the enemy’s plan. Talk about the religion alone, leave practical Christianity and discipleship alone! Haa, I revolted! I knew I had to not only tell her but actually face it, deal with it and handle it properly!

It’s not strange now to meet two people arguing and fighting themselves on the road, with their cars hit and then on both cars see stickers like “I am a child of God” and “Heaven is real and hell is real”. I was once thrown into a confusion when I saw who was going to lead the worship in a church one day and discovered it was a lady I knew very well in my neighbourhood, who had flock of guys entering and coming out of hers. Or is it when you’re in the exam hall and it’s the other christian brother who is asking you to help him solve a question, or in the leadership meeting, and there you have two leaders or God’s people exchanging words and almost beating up themselves… What exactly is the problem here?

The problem with Christianity today is not a lack of the bible, nor a lack of knowledge of what the bible says. Several people go to church and hear the bible, they sometimes read their bible at home, listen to pastors preach and even read books that still talk about the bible.

There is no dearth of bible knowledge, particularly in our environments in Africa. The matter is the matter of “Our Walk” in the world.

The devil doesn’t have any problem with us as long as all we do is quote the abstract bible, if all we do is religiously go to church and religiously hear the religious pastor preach a religious message, you know what I mean! Nothing real anywhere, just words, letters that touch no one and strikes no one. The devil isn’t afraid of that. In fact He likes it to continue, what does He fear? A Proper Walking, a Worthy Walk, according to our vocation. A Walk, worthy of All He has taught us!

Notice it never said anywhere Work worthy, but Walk worthy. There is a difference between Work and Walk. God really doesn’t want us to Work but simply to Walk. Our ‘Works’ are not a threat to the devil; he gets threatened when he finds someone or a group of people who care more about their Walk. The scripture in 1 Peter even talked about ‘Showing forth the praises of God’. As a music minister, I thought that scripture should have read ‘Singing forth the praises of God’. The bible didn’t make a mistake, I am not expected to sing praises alone, but show praises. Other translations are explicit.

“…you are holy and pure, you are God’s very own–all this so that you may show to others how God called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light.” LB
“… that ye may shew forth the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light:” ERV

We never saw that our Christianity was baseless without the life of Christ being manifest. We never imagined the futility of our works without our walk. Maybe we needed to know that God places more value on how we live than what we do, for ‘To Obey is better than sacrifice’. Maybe you needed to be told like I told my sister in the story above that the true test of your Christianity lies in your relationships with others around you. The yardstick for measuring your Christianity is to come to your environment and find out who you are. So it is not a matter of Speaking or talking, Christianity is all about being like Christ. It’s all about Walking, it’s all about Showing forth! It cannot be restricted to the walls of the church alone, it must be seen in the classroom, in the hostel, at your place of work, on the roads, among your friends…Wherever you are! The great challenge is the challenge of our walk.

Do a quick check! How are you walking? Are you just ignoring that part of your life and carrying on with your life like there’s no problem? Do you still keep that girlfriend or boyfriend, and still console yourself that you serve God in a department in church? Noooo, that’s not God’s intention, that’s not how God planned it to be, He wanted you to be a true witness for Him by Walking well, I mean Living right. He can help if you need Him. Make up your mind to be real, decide to go beyond the religious. It’s enough time you’ve talked one way and lived the other. It’s long enough the enemy has cheated you, making you feel ‘Everyone does it, no one is truely okay’. Before we begin to look at some more practical issues (Next post), I ask you to consider how you’ve lived and let’s seek help together. Spend more time on your walk than on your works, God appreciates it more and that scares the devil also!

I needed to keep this short so ill continue in another post called “Walking Worthy: The Practicals“. There I will be sharing a little more practically on the matter of our Walk.

God bless you.

One response

  1. […] previous post “Walking Worthy” introduced the subject of our walk compared with our works. We discussed the fact that God […]

    Like

Please Share with us!

